IPL 2022 New Group Format And Sechduels- All Details

Hey there! This post may contains affiliate links. Read our full disclaimer for more info. Please Contact email: jaya.pathak0208@gmail.com to Advertise with us.

Bcci announced the date for IPL 2022 starting from March 26 to May 29. There will be 70 group matches and 4 qualifier matches for the upcoming season of the ipl 2022. 10 teams divided into 2 different groups according to finals won by teams and no. of final appearances.
Here is a full explanation.

Tata IPL 2022 New group formats highlights

  • 70 league matches between 10 teams.
  • Each team will play 14 ,matches
  • One points table & Two different groups 5 team in each group.
  • Mi in Group A Csk in Group B

IPL 2022 finally back in India after its two successful seasons in UAE. WIth the two new teams ( Gujarat titans and Lucknow SuperGiants) and new group format, the ipl is ready for the start. However, this new format was introduced in ipl 2011 where 10 teams participated.

The first game of IPL 2022 will be CSK vs KKR on 26 March, according to sources. Watch IPL 2022 live in USA and Canada.

IPL 2022 new League Format

70 league matches will be played between 10 teams followed by 4 playoffs. Each team will play 14 matches (7 home and 7 away). Teams will play twice with teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group while single matches with the remaining teams in the other group.

For Example – Mumbai will face KKR, DC, RR, LSG and CSK twice and RCB, SRH, PBKS, GT once.

IPL 2022 league stages will witness

DY Patil Stadium and Wankhede Stadium will both host four matches.A total of 3 matches will be played each at the Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and the MCA International Stadium in Pune.

IPL 2022 group format

S.NOGroup A – Number of titles won inside bracesS.NoGroup B – Number of titles won inside braces
1MI (5)2CSK (4)
3KKR (2)4SRH (1)
5RR (1)6RCB

 IPL 2022 Schedule Matrix

IPL 2022 sechduel matrix

IPL 2022 venues and fixture

As BCCI facing challenges to host 15th edition of IPL they have decided two host cities Mumbai and Pune.Bcci official said that “avoid air travel which is considered as a major threat for the spread of Covid-19 infection, thereby affecting the players and the League/matches.” The venues for the play-offs and final will be finalized at a later date, the BCCI said.

Four venues have been selected to host the IPL 2022: Three in Mumbai and one in Pune.

VenueNumber of Matches
Mumbai – Wankhede Stadium20 Matches
Mumbai – Brabourne Stadium (CCI)15 Matches
Mumbai – DY Patil Stadium20 Matches
Pune – MCA International Stadium15 Matches

IPL 2022 Points Table

IPL 2022 points table will follow the same points system as previous seasons. Two different groups are made just to decide matches. Only top 4 teams will qualify for the playoffs.

Photo of author

Jaya Mishra

Jaya Mishra is an IT Professional with nearly 9 years of experience and Currently likes to cover topics related to Cricket, Live Sports Events, UFC Live shows, Streaming guides, and more. He can help you find the best sites to watch sports, TV shows, and movies online. Reach out to him at: jaya.pathak0208@gmail.com

Leave a Comment

You have Successfully Subscribed!